综述癌症试验仍对拜耳构成威胁,但和解谈判仍在进行中

打印 请发邮件给我们 分享 分享

孟山都公司所有者拜耳公司(Bayer AG)和起诉孟山都公司的原告的律师周四告诉一位联邦法官,他们在解决由声称孟山都公司的农达使他们患上癌症的人提起的全国性诉讼中继续取得进展。

在视频听证会上,拜耳律师威廉·霍夫曼(William Hoffman)告诉美国地方法院法官文斯·查布里亚(Vince Chhabria),该公司已达成或即将达成交易,以解决在美国地方法院针对多区诉讼(MDL)进行的3,000多个诉讼案。加利福尼亚北部地区。

该公司已经分别在MDL之外解决了数千起案件,这些案件正在州法院审理中。 但是争议和冲突困扰了整体解决方案的报价,一些原告的公司指控拜耳违反了几个月前达成的协议,有些原告的公司不愿同意他们认为拜耳提出的报价不足。

但是,在周四的听证会上没有对这些投诉进行讨论,双方都表达了乐观的看法。

“公司向前迈进,并与公司达成了多项协议……。 我们也希望在未来几天内敲定其他协议。”霍夫曼告诉法官。

“我们现在所处的位置……这些数字有些估算,但我认为它们已经相当接近:大约有1,750个案件需要公司与律师事务所之间的协议,另外还有大约1,850至1,900个处于不同讨论阶段的案件霍夫曼说。 “我们正在制定一项计划,以加快讨论并希望与这些公司达成协议。”

原告律师布伦特·威斯纳(Brent Wisner)告诉法官,重要的是要注意到MDL内还有一些尚待解决的“案件”。 但是,他说–“我们预计他们很快就会出现。”

Chhabria法官说,鉴于取得的进展,他将继续将Roundup诉讼中止至2月XNUMX日,但如果到那时仍未解决,他将开始将案件移交审判。

拜耳交易不佳

在周四的听证会上表达的合作基调与上个月的原告律师Aimee Wagstaff举行的听证会相去甚远。  告诉贾布里亚法官 拜耳并没有遵守XNUMX月份达成并打算在XNUMX月份完成的临时和解协议。

拜耳在10月宣布,已与美国律师事务所达成100,000亿美元的和解协议,以解决XNUMX多起Roundup癌症索赔中的大部分。 但是,当时主导诉讼并与拜耳最终签署协议的唯一主要律师事务所是米勒律师事务所和魏茨与卢森堡。

根据和解文件,仅米勒公司的这笔交易就达到了849亿美元,可以覆盖5,000多位Roundup客户的索赔。

总部位于加利福尼亚 Baum Hedlund Aristei和高盛 律师事务所; 的 安德鲁斯·瓦格斯塔夫(Andrus Wagstaff) 来自科罗拉多州的公司; 和 摩尔法律集团 肯塔基州有临时协议,但没有最终协议。

根据瓦格斯塔夫(Wagstaff)向法院提交的一封信,拜耳要求再次延期,直到XNUMX月中旬与她的公司的交易破裂。 在向Chhabria法官报告问题后,恢复了和解谈判, 最终与三家公司达成和解 这个月。

一些细节 如何解决 将被管理 是本周早些时候在密苏里州的一家法院提起的。 Garretson Resolution Group,Inc.(以Epiq Mass Tort经营)将担任
留置权解决管理员,” 例如,对于安德鲁斯·瓦格斯塔夫(Andrus Wagstaff)的客户,其结算费用将需要部分或全部用于偿还Medicare支付的癌症治疗费用。

拜耳于2018年收购孟山都(Monsanto)时,正进行了首次综述综述。 此后,它已经失去了迄今举行的三项审判中的所有三项,并失去了旨在推翻审判损失的早期上诉。 每个试验中的陪审团都发现孟山都的除草剂确实会致癌,孟山都花了数十年的时间掩盖了风险。

陪审团裁定的赔偿总额超过2亿美元,尽管审判和上诉法院法官下令减少判决。

拜耳曾威胁说,如果无法达成全国性和解协议,它将申请破产, 根据通讯 从原告的公司到客户。

Roundup cancer trials still a threat to Bayer, but settlement talks progressing

Print Email Share Tweet

Lawyers for Monsanto owner Bayer AG and for plaintiffs suing Monsanto told a federal judge on Thursday that they were continuing to make progress in settling sweeping nationwide litigation brought by people who claim Monsanto’s Roundup caused them to develop cancer.

In a video hearing, Bayer lawyer William Hoffman told U.S. District Judge Vince Chhabria the company had reached deals – or was close to reaching deals – to resolve more than 3,000 lawsuits that are grouped together in multidistrict litigation (MDL) filed in U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California.

The company separately has already settled thousands of cases outside the MDL, cases that have been proceeding through state courts. But controversy and conflict have dogged the overall settlement offers, with allegations from some plaintiffs’ firms that Bayer reneged on agreements reached months ago, and some plaintiffs’ firms unwilling to agree to what they consider inadequate offers from Bayer.

There was no discussion of those complaints, however,  in Thursday’s hearing, with both sides expressing optimistic views.

“The company has moved forward and finalized several agreements with firms…. we’re also hopefully going to finalize additional agreements in the next several days,” Hoffman told the judge.

“Where we are right now… these figures are somewhat estimates but I think they are reasonably close: There are approximately 1,750 cases that are subject to agreements between the company and law firms and another approximately 1,850 to 1,900 cases that are in various stages of discussion right now,” Hoffman said. “We are working to put in place a program to accelerate discussions and hopefully bring agreements to fruition with those firms.”

Plaintiffs’ lawyer Brent Wisner told the judge it was important to note that there remain a “handful of cases” within the MDL that are not settled yet. But, he said – “We anticipate they will be shortly.”

Judge Chhabria said that given the progress he will continue a stay of the Roundup litigation until November 2 but that he will start moving cases to trial if they are not resolved by that point.

Bayer Bad Dealing Alleged

The cooperative tone expressed in Thursday’s hearing was a far cry from a hearing held last month when plaintiffs’ attorney Aimee Wagstaff  told Judge Chhabria that Bayer was not honoring tentative settlement agreements made in March and intended for finalization in July.

Bayer announced in June that it had reached a $10 billion settlement with U.S. law firms to resolve most of more than 100,000 Roundup cancer claims. But at that time the only major law firms leading the litigation that had final signed agreements with Bayer were The Miller Firm and Weitz & Luxenburg.

The Miller Firm’s deal alone totaled $849 million to cover the claims of more than 5,000 Roundup clients, according to settlement documents.

The  California-based Baum Hedlund Aristei &  Goldman law firm; the Andrus Wagstaff firm from Colorado; and the Moore Law Group of Kentucky had tentative deals but not final agreements.

According to a letter written by Wagstaff filed with the court, Bayer requested repeated extensions until the deal with her firm fell apart in mid-August. After reporting the issues to Judge Chhabria, the settlement talks resumed and were ultimately resolved with the three firms this month.

Some details of how the settlements will be administered were filed earlier this week in a court in Missouri. The Garretson Resolution Group, Inc., doing business as Epiq Mass Tort, will act as the
Lien Resolution Administrator,” for instance, for clients of Andrus Wagstaff whose settlement dollars will need to be used in part or in whole to repay cancer treatment expenses paid by Medicare.

Bayer bought Monsanto in 2018 just as the first Roundup cancer trial was getting underway. It has since lost all three of the three trials held to date and has lost the early rounds of appeals seeking to overturn the trial losses. Juries in each of the trials found that Monsanto’s herbicides do cause cancer and that Monsanto spent decades hiding the risks.

The jury awards totaled well over $2 billion, though the judgments have been ordered reduced by trial and appellate court judges.

Bayer had threatened to file for bankruptcy if no nationwide settlement was reached, according to communications from the plaintiffs’ firms to their clients.