随着和解的进行,拜耳与三家Roundup癌症律师事务所达成交易

打印 电子邮件 分享 分享

拜耳公司已与代表数千名原告的三大律师事务所达成最终和解条款,他们声称接触孟山都的草甘膦类除草剂导致他们患上非霍奇金淋巴瘤。

新的交易是与总部位于加利福尼亚的 Baum Hedlund Aristei和高盛 律师事务所; 的 安德鲁斯·瓦格斯塔夫(Andrus Wagstaff) 来自科罗拉多州的公司; 和 摩尔法律集团 肯塔基州。 两家公司均于周一向加利福尼亚北区美国地方法院提交了交易通知。

这笔交易是在三大律师事务所指控拜耳违反几个月前已经达成的协议条款之后做出的。 两家公司周一告诉法院,他们现在各自与“孟山都公司签署了一份完全执行且具有约束力的《大和解协议》。”

值得注意的是,这些交易标志着朝着结束已有100,000年历史的大规模侵权诉讼迈出的关键一步,该诉讼现在可以计算出来自美国各地使用孟山都公司生产的Roundup和其他基于草甘膦的除草剂的人们提出的XNUMX多项索赔。罹患癌症。

拜耳于2018年收购孟山都(Monsanto)时,正进行了首次综述综述。 此后,它已经失去了迄今举行的三项审判中的所有三项,并失去了旨在推翻审判损失的早期上诉。 每个试验中的陪审团都发现孟山都的除草剂确实会致癌,孟山都花了数十年的时间掩盖了风险。

陪审团裁定的赔偿总额超过2亿美元,尽管审判和上诉法院法官下令减少判决。

根据原告公司与客户的通讯,拜耳曾威胁说如果无法在全国范围内达成和解,将申请破产。

拜耳在10月宣布,已与美国律师事务所达成100,000亿美元的和解协议,以解决XNUMX多起Roundup癌症索赔中的大部分。 但据接近谈判的消息人士称,当时,在这场广泛诉讼中,只有两家主要的律师事务所与拜耳公司最终签署了协议-米勒律师事务所和魏茨与卢森堡出版社。 消息人士称,鲍姆公司,安德鲁斯·瓦格斯塔夫公司和摩尔公司有谅解备忘录,但没有最终协议。

该公司解决诉讼的努力在一定程度上受到了挑战,即如何避免使用该公司除草剂后罹患癌症的人将来可能提出的索赔要求。 拜耳试图获得一项计划的法院批准,该计划将新的Roundup癌症病例的提交推迟了四年,并且将建立一个由五人组成的“科学小组”来确定Roundup是否会引起非霍奇金淋巴瘤,如果可以, ,即最低暴露水平。 如果专家小组确定Roundup与非霍奇金淋巴瘤之间没有因果关系,那么该类成员将被禁止将来再提出此类索赔。

美国地方法官文斯·贾布里亚(Vince Chhabria) 拒绝了这个计划  将拜耳送回绘图板。

拜耳 周四说 它正在制定“经修订的”计划以解决潜在的未来“综述”诉讼方面取得进展。 拜耳表示,修订后的课程计划的细节将在未来几周内定稿。

几位原告对和解感到不满,称尽管多年的昂贵癌症治疗以及持续的痛苦和折磨,他们将不会收到很多钱。 确实,许多原告人在等待解决方案时死亡。

9月73日,Marie Bernice Dinner和她的丈夫Bruce Dinner的律师向法院提交了通知,说2岁的Marie于XNUMX月XNUMX日死于非霍奇金淋巴瘤,她和丈夫声称这是由于她暴露于孟山都的除草剂引起的。

布鲁斯·晚餐的律师要求法院允许他们修改对孟山都的申诉,以增加对不法死亡的索赔。 这对夫妇已婚53岁,有两个孩子和四个孙子。

“玛丽·伯尼斯(Marie Bernice)是一位非凡的人。 代表她的家人的律师Beth Klein说。

Bayer inks deals with three Roundup cancer law firms as settlement progresses

Print Email Share Tweet

Bayer AG has reached final settlement terms with three major law firms representing thousands of plaintiffs who claim exposure to Monsanto’s glyphosate-based herbicides caused them to develop non-Hodgkin lymphoma.

The new deals have been  made with California-based Baum Hedlund Aristei &  Goldman law firm; the Andrus Wagstaff firm from Colorado; and the Moore Law Group of Kentucky. The firms each filed notification of the deals with the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California on Monday.

The deals come after allegations by the three law firms that Bayer was reneging on terms of agreements already made months earlier. The firms told the court Monday that they each now have a “fully-executed and binding Master Settlement Agreement with Monsanto.”

Notably, the deals mark a critical step toward bringing closure to the five-year-old mass tort litigation that now tallies more than 100,000 claims brought by people from around the United States who used Roundup and other glyphosate-based herbicides made by Monsanto before they developed cancer.

Bayer bought Monsanto in 2018 just as the first Roundup cancer trial was getting underway. It has since lost all three of the three trials held to date and has lost the early rounds of appeals seeking to overturn the trial losses. Juries in each of the trials found that Monsanto’s herbicides do cause cancer and that Monsanto spent decades hiding the risks.

The jury awards totaled well over $2 billion, though the judgments have been ordered reduced by trial and appellate court judges.

Bayer had threatened to file for bankruptcy if no nationwide settlement was reached, according to communications from the plaintiffs’ firms to their clients.

Bayer announced in June that it had reached a $10 billion settlement with U.S. law firms to resolve most of more than 100,000 Roundup cancer claims. But at that time only two of the major law firms in the sweeping litigation had final signed agreements with Bayer – The Miller Firm and Weitz & Luxenburg, according to sources close to the negotiations. The Baum firm, the Andrus Wagstaff firm and the Moore firm had memorandums of understanding but not final agreements, sources said.

The company’s efforts to resolve the litigation have been stymied in part by the challenge of how to head off claims that could be brought in the future by people who develop cancer after using the company’s herbicides. Bayer tried to get court approval for a plan that would have delayed the filing of new Roundup cancer cases for four years, and would have established a five-member “science panel” to determine whether Roundup can cause non-Hodgkin lymphoma, and if so, at what minimum exposure levels.  If the panel determined there was no causal connection between Roundup and non-Hodgkin lymphoma then the class members would be barred from future such claims.

U.S. District Judge Vince Chhabria rejected the plan,  sending Bayer back to the drawing board.

Bayer had said Thursday that it was making progress in the development of a “revised” plan to resolve potential future Roundup litigation. The details of the revised class plan will be finalized over the coming weeks, according to Bayer.

Several plaintiffs have been unhappy with the settlement, saying they will not receive very much money despite years of expensive cancer treatments and ongoing pain and suffering. Indeed, many plaintiffs have died while waiting for a resolution.

On September 9, lawyers for Marie Bernice Dinner and her husband Bruce Dinner filed notice with the court that 73-year-old Marie died on June 2 from the non-Hodgkin lymphoma she and her husband alleged was caused by her exposure to Monsanto’s weed killers.

Lawyers for Bruce Dinner asked the court to allow them to amend the complaint against Monsanto to add a claim for wrongful death. The couple was married 53 years and have two children and four grandchildren.

“Marie Bernice was an extraordinary person.  Her death should have been prevented,” said lawyer Beth Klein, who is representing the family.