尽管拜耳定居了努力,新的综述综述仍在进行中

打印 电子邮件 分享 分享

肯·莫尔(Gen Moll)正在战斗。

总部位于芝加哥的人身伤害律师莫尔(Moll)曾针对前孟山都公司(Monsanto Co.)提起数十起诉讼,指控该公司的Roundup除草剂引起非霍奇金淋巴瘤,他现在正在准备其中一些案件进行审判。

Moll的公司是拒绝孟山都公司所有者拜耳公司提出的和解提议的极少数公司之一,而是决定将有关孟山都基于草甘膦的除草剂产品安全性的斗争带回全国各地的法庭。

尽管拜耳向投资者保证,但它正在通过以下方式结束昂贵的Roundup诉讼: 结算交易 总计超过11亿美元,新的综述案件 仍在提起中,尤其是其中几个已经开始接受审判,最早的审判定于XNUMX月开始。

“我们正在前进,”莫尔说。 “我们正在这样做。”

Moll排队了许多相同的专家证人,这些证人帮助赢得了迄今为止举行的三场Roundup审判。 他计划严重依赖孟山都内部文件,这些文件提供了令人震惊的公司不当行为的启示,导致陪审团做出裁决。 严重的惩罚性赔偿 在每个审判中都交给原告。

审判定于19月XNUMX日进行

一名即将到来的审判案件涉及一名来自加利福尼亚州尤卡帕的70岁名叫Donnetta Stephens的妇女,她于2017年被诊断出患有非霍奇金淋巴瘤(NHL),并在多轮化疗中遭受了许多健康并发症的困扰。 斯蒂芬斯(Stephens)最近获得了审判“优先权”,这意味着在她的律师之后,她的案子得到了加速。 通知法院 史蒂芬斯(Stephens)处于“永远的痛苦状态”,并失去了认知和记忆力。 该案定于19月XNUMX日在加利福尼亚州圣贝纳迪诺县高等法院开庭审理。

对于原告声称的老年人和至少一个患有NHL的孩子,其他几个案件已经被授予优先审判日期,或者正在寻求审判日期,原告声称这是由于接触Roundup产品引起的。

诉讼还没有结束。 拜耳和孟山都将继续感到头痛。

肯肯德尔说,他所在的公司正在向加利福尼亚,俄勒冈,密苏里州,阿肯色州和马萨诸塞州提起诉讼。

这有可能成为下一个石棉诉讼。”他说,他指的是数十年来因石棉引起的健康问题而提起的诉讼。

拜耳拒绝

拜耳于2018年2月收购孟山都,正值首例Roundup癌症试验正在进行之际。 在每个要审理的案件中,陪审团都发现孟山都的除草剂确实会致癌,孟山都花了数十年的时间掩盖了风险。 陪审团的裁决总额超过XNUMX亿美元,尽管在上诉程序中下达了判决。

经过激烈的 投资者的压力 找到限制责任的方法, 拜耳宣布 今年10月,该公司已达成100,000亿美元的和解方案,以解决美国超过2015例Roundup癌症索赔。 自那时以来,它一直在与全国各地的律师事务所签约,其中包括自2年提起第一起诉讼以来一直领导诉讼的律师事务所。该公司还试图获得法院批准的一项XNUMX亿美元的单独计划,试图保留将来可能会审理的综述综述癌症病例。

但是,拜耳无法与所有具有Roundup癌症客户的公司达成和解。 根据多名原告的律师的说法,他们的公司拒绝了和解要约,因为每名原告的金额通常在10,000美元至50,000美元之间-赔偿律师认为不足的赔偿。

“我们说绝对不行,”莫尔说。

另一家将案件进行审理的律师事务所是总部位于加利福尼亚州圣迭戈的辛格尔顿律师事务所,该公司在密苏里州约有400宗尚待审理的案件,在加利福尼亚州约有70宗。

该公司现在正在寻求加急审判 76岁的约瑟夫·米涅诺,他于2019年被诊断出患有NHL。根据法院的文件,Mignone于一年多前完成了化学疗法,但仍忍受放射线治疗脖子上的肿瘤,并继续虚弱无力。

苦难的故事

在原告的档案中有许多关于苦难的故事,他们仍然希望对孟山都提起诉讼。

  • 联邦调查局的退休特工和大学教授约翰·舍弗(John Schafer)于1985年开始使用Roundup,并在春季,秋季和夏季每月多次使用除草剂,直到2017年, 根据法庭记录。 直到2015年一位农民朋友警告他戴手套之前,他才穿防护服。 他于2018年被诊断出患有NHL。
  • 六十三岁的兰德尔·塞德尔(Randall Seidl)在24年的时间里应用了Roundup,包括从2005年至2010年在他位于德克萨斯州圣安东尼奥的院子里定期对该产品进行喷涂,然后在北卡罗来纳州的房产周围进行喷涂,直到2014年他被诊断出患有NHL。 法庭记录.
  • 罗伯特·卡曼(Robert Karman)从1980年开始使用Roundup产品,通常使用手持喷雾器每周大约40周每周一次对杂草进行处理, 根据法庭记录。 Karman的初级保健医生在他的腹股沟中发现一块肿块后,于2015年77月被诊断出患有NHL。 卡曼(Karman)于当年XNUMX月去世,享年XNUMX岁。

原告律师杰拉尔德·辛格顿(Gerald Singleton)表示,拜耳提出“农达”诉讼的唯一途径是在其除草剂产品上贴上明确的警告标签,以警告使用者患癌的风险。

他说:“这是这件事要结束并完成的唯一途径。” 他说,在那之前,“我们不会停止受理案件。”

New Roundup cancer trials loom despite Bayer settlement efforts

Print Email Share Tweet

Ken Moll is girding for battle.

Moll, a Chicago-based personal injury attorney, has dozens of lawsuits pending against the former Monsanto Co., all alleging the company’s Roundup weed killers cause non-Hodgkin lymphoma, and he is now preparing several of those cases for trial.

Moll’s firm is one of a handful that have refused settlement offers made by Monsanto owner Bayer AG, deciding instead to take the fight over the safety of Monsanto’s glyphosate-based herbicide products back into courtrooms around the country.

Though Bayer has assured investors it is bringing closure to the costly Roundup litigation through settlement deals totaling more than $11 billion, new Roundup cases are still being filed, and notably several are positioned for trial, with the earliest set to start in July.

“We’re going forward,” Moll said. “We’re doing this.”

Moll has lined up many of the same expert witnesses who helped win the three Roundup trials held to date. And he plans to rely heavily on the same internal Monsanto documents that provided shocking revelations of corporate misconduct that led juries to award hefty punitive damages to the plaintiffs in each of those trials.

Trial set for July 19

One case with a trial date looming involves a 70-year-old woman named Donnetta Stephens from Yucaipa, California who was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) in 2017 and has suffered from numerous health complications amid multiple rounds of chemotherapy. Stephens was recently granted a trial “preference,” meaning her case has been expedited, after her lawyers informed the court that Stephens is “in a perpetual state of pain,” and losing cognition and memory. The case is set for trial July 19 in San Bernardino County Superior Court in California.

Several other cases have either already been granted preference trial dates, or are seeking trial dates, for elderly people and at least one child suffering from NHL the plaintiffs allege was caused by exposure to Roundup products.

The litigation is not over. It is going to be a continued headache for Bayer and Monsanto,” said Andrew Kirkendall, whose Texas-based firm is helping represent Stephens and other clients seeking speedy trials.

Kirkendall said his firm has lawsuits moving forward to trial in California, Oregon, Missouri, Arkansas and Massachusetts.

This has the potential to be the next asbestos litigation,” he said, referring to decades of lawsuits brought over asbestos-related health problems.

Bayer rejection

Bayer bought Monsanto in June 2018 just as the first Roundup cancer trial was getting underway. Juries in each of the cases that went to trial found that Monsanto’s herbicides do cause cancer and that Monsanto spent decades hiding the risks. Jury awards totaled well over $2 billion, though the judgments have been ordered reduced in the appeals process.

After coming under intense pressure from investors to find a way to cap liability, Bayer announced in June that it had reached a $10 billion settlement to resolve most of more than 100,000 Roundup cancer claims in the United States. Since that time it has been signing deals with law firms around the country, including the firms that have led the litigation since the first suits were filed in 2015. The company is also trying to get court approval for a separate $2 billion plan to try to keep Roundup cancer cases that could be filed in the future from going to trial.

Bayer has been unable to settle with all of the firms with Roundup cancer clients, however. According to multiple plaintiffs’ attorneys, their firms rejected settlement offers because the amounts generally ranged from $10,000 to $50,000 per plaintiff – compensation the attorneys deemed inadequate.

“We said absolutely no,” Moll said.

Another law firm pushing cases forward for trial is the San Diego, California-based Singleton Law Firm, which has roughly 400 Roundup cases pending in Missouri and about 70 in California.

The firm is seeking an expedited trial now for 76-year-old Joseph Mignone, who was diagnosed with NHL in 2019. Mignone completed chemotherapy more than a year ago but also has endured radiation to treat a tumor on his neck, and continues to suffer debilitation, according to the court filing seeking trial preference.

Stories of suffering

There are many stories of suffering within the files of the plaintiffs who are still hoping to get their day in court against Monsanto.

  • Retired FBI agent and college professor John Schafer began using Roundup in 1985 and used the herbicide multiple times during spring, fall and summer months until 2017, according to court records. He did not wear protective clothing until warned by a farmer friend in 2015 to wear gloves. He was diagnosed with NHL in 2018.
  • Sixty-three year-old Randall Seidl applied Roundup over 24 years, including regularly spraying the product around his yard in San Antonio, Texas from approximately 2005 to 2010 and then around property in North Carolina until 2014 when he was diagnosed with NHL, according to court records.
  • Robert Karman applied Roundup products beginning in 1980, generally using a hand-held sprayer to treat weeds on a weekly basis roughly 40 weeks a year, according to court records. Karman was diagnosed with NHL in July 2015 after his primary care doctor discovered a lump in his groin. Karman died in December of that year at the age of 77.

Plaintiffs’ attorney Gerald Singleton said Bayer’s only path to putting the Roundup litigation behind it is to put a clear warning label on its herbicide products, alerting users to the risk of cancer.

“That is the only way this thing is going to be over and done,” he said. Until then, he said, “we’re not going to stop taking cases.”