拜耳的孟山都头痛依然存在

打印 请发邮件给我们 分享 分享

对于拜耳公司而言,孟山都这样的偏头痛似乎不会很快消失。

解决数以万计声称孟山都的Roundup除草剂使他们罹患癌症的人在美国提起的诉讼的努力仍在继续,但并未解决所有未决案件,也未提供所有原告都同意他们的解决方案。

In 给美国地方法官文斯·贾布里亚(Vince Chhabria)的一封信, 德克萨斯州律师戴维·戴蒙德(David Diamond)表示,由律师牵头与拜耳(Bayer)代表原告进行的辩护并未准确反映其本人的情况。 他列举了与拜耳“与定居相关的经验”的“不足”,并要求查布里亚法官将戴蒙德的几宗案件移交审判。

“领导层关于和解的陈述不代表我客户的和解
相关经验,兴趣或职位。”戴蒙德告诉法官。

MDL旁边是成千上万的原告,其案件正在州法院审理中。

钻石跟随法官 上个月末的听证会 其中,诉讼中的几家领先律师事务所和拜耳的律师告诉Chhabria,他们即将解决大部分(如果不是全部)在法官面前的案件。

Bayer has reached important settlements with several of the leading law firms who collectively represent a significant share of the claims brought against Monsanto.拜耳与几家领先的律师事务所达成了重要的和解协议,这些律师事务所在对孟山都公司提出的索赔中占了很大一部分。 In June, Bayer said it would provide $8.8 billion to $9.6 billion to resolve the litigation.拜耳在XNUMX月份表示,将提供XNUMX亿至XNUMX亿美元来解决这一诉讼。

但是争议和冲突困扰着整体解决方案。

以大公司为代表的一些原告,他们以不使用其名字的条件发言,他们表示不同意和解的条款,这意味着将对他们的案件进行调解,如果失败,将进行审判。

在2018年收购孟山都之后,拜耳一直在努力找出如何结束包括100,000多名原告的诉讼。 该公司迄今未进行的三项审判中的三项都败诉,并且已经失去了试图推翻审判损失的早期上诉。 每个试验中的陪审团都发现,孟山都公司基于草甘膦的除草剂(如农达)确实会致癌,孟山都公司花了数十年的时间掩盖了这种风险。

该公司解决诉讼的努力在一定程度上受到了挑战,即如何避免使用该公司的除草剂后患癌症的人将来可能提出的索赔要求。

问题只是不断安装  

拜耳曾威胁说,如果不能平息“农达”诉讼,该公司将申请破产。该公司周三发布了盈利预警,并宣布削减数十亿美元的成本削减,理由是“其他市场的农业前景低于预期”。 这则消息使公司股价暴跌。

报告拜耳的麻烦 巴伦指出: 对于拜耳及其投资者而言,问题一直在加剧,而拜耳及其投资者现在必须习惯于经常发出令人失望的消息。 自从孟山都交易于50年2018月完成以来,该股现已下跌超过XNUMX%。“最新更新仅使孟山都交易成为公司历史上最糟糕的交易之一。”

Bayer’s Monsanto headache persists

Print Email Share Tweet

The migraine that is Monsanto doesn’t appear to be going away anytime soon for Bayer AG.

Efforts at settling the mass of lawsuits brought in the United States by tens of thousands of people who claim Monsanto’s Roundup herbicides gave them cancer continue to inch forward, but are not addressing all outstanding cases, nor are all plaintiffs offered settlements agreeing to them.

In a letter to U.S. District Judge Vince Chhabria, Texas attorney David Diamond said that representations made by the lawyers leading settlement talks with Bayer on behalf of plaintiffs did not accurately reflect the situation for his own clients. He cited a “lack” of “settlement-related experiences” with Bayer and he requested that Judge Chhabria advance several of Diamond’s cases forward for trials.

“Leadership’s representations regarding settlement do not represent my clients’ settlement
related experiences, interests or position,” Diamond told the judge.

Diamond wrote in the letter that he has 423 Roundup clients, including 345 who have cases pending before Chhabria in the multidistrict litigation (MDL) in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California. Alongside the MDL are thousands of plaintiffs whose cases are pending in state courts.

Diamond’s outreach to the judge followed a hearing late last month in which several of the leading firms in the litigation and lawyers for Bayer told Chhabria they were close to resolving most, if not all, of the cases before the judge.

Bayer has reached important settlements with several of the leading law firms who collectively represent a significant share of the claims brought against Monsanto. In June, Bayer said it would provide $8.8 billion to $9.6 billion to resolve the litigation.

But controversy and conflict have dogged the overall settlement offers.

Several plaintiffs represented by the large firms and who spoke on condition that their names not be used, said they are not agreeing to the terms of the settlements, meaning their cases will be directed into mediation and, if that fails, to trials.

After buying Monsanto in 2018, Bayer has been struggling to figure out how to put an end to the litigation that includes more than 100,000 plaintiffs. The company lost all three of the three trials held to date and has lost the early rounds of appeals seeking to overturn the trial losses. Juries in each of the trials found that Monsanto’s glyphosate-based herbicides, such as Roundup, do cause cancer and that Monsanto spent decades hiding the risks.

The company’s efforts to resolve the litigation have been stymied in part by the challenge of how to head off claims that could be brought in the future by people who develop cancer after using the company’s herbicides.

Problems Just Keep Mounting  

Bayer has threatened to file for bankruptcy if it cannot quell the Roundup litigation and on Wednesday the company issued a profit warning and announced billions in cost cuts, citing a “lower than expected outlook in the agricultural market” amid other factors. The news sent shares in the company tumbling.

In reporting Bayer’s troubles Barron’s noted: “The problems just keep mounting for Bayer and its investors, who by now must be used to regular bouts of disappointing news. The stock has now fallen more than 50% since the Monsanto deal was closed in June 2018. “This latest update only adds to the case for the Monsanto deal being one of the worst in corporate history.”