上诉法院否认孟山都竞标综述

打印 电子邮件 分享 分享

加利福尼亚州上诉法院星期二 拒绝了孟山都的 努力从欠加利福尼亚州一名场地管理员的钱中削减4万美元,该陪审员发现陪审团发现该人是由于该男子暴露于孟山都的Roundup除草剂而致癌。

加州第一上诉地区上诉法院也驳回了该公司重新审理此案的请求。 法院的裁决是继上个月的裁决之后的 猛击孟山都  因为它否认基于草甘膦的除草剂会引起癌症的证据的强度。 法院在XNUMX月份的裁决中说,原告Dewayne“ Lee” Johnson提供了“大量”证据,证明孟山都的除草剂引起了他的癌症。 上诉法院在其XNUMX月份的裁决中表示:“专家提供的证据表明,农达产品都能引起非霍奇金淋巴瘤……尤其是引起约翰逊癌症。”

然而,在上个月的判决中,上诉法院确实削减了欠约翰逊的损害赔偿金,命令孟山都支付20.5万美元,低于初审法官下令的78万美元,也低于陪审团判定约翰逊的判决的289亿美元。案于2018年XNUMX月。

除了孟山都欠约翰逊的20.5万美元外,该公司还被勒令支付519,000美元的费用。

孟山都(Monsanto)在2018年被拜耳(Bayer AG)收购 法庭敦促 将约翰逊的奖金削减到16.5万美元。

迪卡姆巴的决定也站得住脚

在周二的法院判决之后, 周一发布的决定 由美国第九巡回上诉法院驳回了法院XNUMX月份对 撤消批准 来自孟山都的基于麦草畏的除草产品拜耳。 六月的裁定还有效地禁止了巴斯夫和Corteva Agriscience生产的基于麦草畏的除草剂。

两家公司已请第九巡回法院的法官组成更广泛的小组来审理此案,理由是撤销该产品的监管批准的决定是不公平的。 但是法院断然拒绝了该重审请求。

第九巡回法庭在XNUMX月份的决定中说,环境保护局(EPA)批准孟山都/拜耳,巴斯夫和科尔蒂瓦公司开发的麦草畏产品时违反了法律。

法院下令立即禁止使用该公司的每种麦草畏产品,认定EPA“大大低估了麦草畏除草剂的风险”,并且“完全没有承认其他风险”。

法院关于禁止该公司的麦草畏产品的裁决在农场国引起轩然大波,因为许多大豆和棉花种植者种植了数百万英亩由孟山都公司开发的转基因的麦草耐受性作物,目的是用麦草制造的麦草畏除草剂处理这些领域的杂草。三个公司。 类似于“抗草甘膦”的耐草甘膦作物,耐麦草畏的作物允许农民在田间喷洒麦草畏,以杀死杂草而不损害作物。

孟山都公司,巴斯夫公司和杜邦公司/科特瓦公司几年前推出其麦草畏除草剂时,他们声称该产品不会挥发,并会转移到邻近领域,因为已知的旧版麦草畏除草剂会这样做。 但是,在对麦草畏漂移损害的广泛抱怨中,这些保证被​​证明是错误的。

联邦法院在18月份的裁决中指出,去年有XNUMX个州报告了超过XNUMX万英亩未经基因工程处理以耐受麦草畏的农作物受损。

Appeals court denies Monsanto bid for Roundup case rehearing

Print Email Share Tweet

A California appeals court on Tuesday rejected Monsanto’s effort to trim $4 million from the amount of money it owes a California groundskeeper who is struggling to survive cancer that a jury found was caused by the man’s exposure to Monsanto’s Roundup herbicides.

The Court of Appeal for the First Appellate District of California also rejected the company’s request for a rehearing of the matter.  The court’s decision followed its ruling last month slamming Monsanto  for its denial of the strength of the evidence that its glyphosate-based weed killers cause cancer. In that July ruling, the court said that plaintiff Dewayne “Lee” Johnson had presented “abundant” evidence that Monsanto’s weed killer caused his cancer.  “Expert after expert provided evidence both that Roundup products are capable of causing non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma…  and caused Johnson’s cancer in particular,” the appeals court stated in its July decision.

In that decision from last month, the appeals court did, however, cut the damage award owed to Johnson, ordering Monsanto to pay $20.5 million, down from $78 million ordered by the trial judge and down from $289 million ordered by the jury who decided Johnson’s case in August 2018.

In addition to the $20.5 million Monsanto owes Johnson, the company is ordered to pay $519,000 in costs.

Monsanto, which was bought by Bayer AG in 2018, had urged the court to cut the award to Johnson to $16.5 million.

Dicamba decision also stands

Tuesday’s court decision followed a decision issued Monday by the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit denying a rehearing of the court’s June decision to vacate the approval of the dicamba-based weed killing product Bayer inherited from Monsanto. That June ruling also effectively banned dicamba-based herbicides made by BASF and Corteva Agriscience.

The companies had petitioned for a broader group of judges from the Ninth Circuit judges to rehear the case, arguing that the decision to revoke regulatory approvals for the products was unfair. But the court flatly rejected that rehearing request.

In its June decision, the Ninth Circuit said the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) had violated the law when it approved the dicamba products developed by Monsanto/Bayer, BASF and Corteva.

The court ordered an immediate ban on use of each of the company’s dicamba products, finding that the EPA “substantially understated the risks” of the dicamba herbicides and “failed entirely to acknowledge other risks.”

The court decision banning the company’s dicamba products triggered an uproar in farm country because many soybean and cotton farmers planted millions of acres of genetically altered dicamba-tolerant crops developed by Monsanto with the intent of treating weeds in those fields with the dicamba herbicides made by the three companies. Similar to “Roundup Ready” glyphosate-tolerant crops, the dicamba-tolerant crops allow farmers to spray dicamba over their fields tyo kill weeds without harming their crops.

When Monsanto, BASF and DuPont/Corteva rolled out their dicamba herbicides a few years ago they  claimed the products would not volatize and drift into neighboring fields as older versions of dicamba weed killing products were known to do. But those assurances proved false amid widespread complaints of dicamba drift damage.

More than one million acres of crops not genetically engineered to tolerate dicamba were reported damaged last year in 18 states, the federal court noted in its June ruling.