关于拜耳与Roundup癌症患者之间达成和解的新话题

打印 电子邮件 分享 分享

由于下周主要法庭听证会的临近,拜耳公司与成千上万的癌症患者之间重新达成了和解协议。

根据一个 彭博社报道 拜耳的律师已经与代表至少50,000名原告的美国律师达成了口头协议,这些原告起诉孟山都公司,指控称Roundup和其他孟山都除草剂导致原告人发展为非霍奇金淋巴瘤。

彭博社报道的细节似乎与拜耳与原告的律师之间先前的口头协议大致相同,后者在与冠状病毒有关的法院关闭期间分崩离析。 在法院仍然关闭的情况下,推迟了审判日期,减轻了拜耳的压力。

但是,在首次综述抗癌试验的呼吁下,下周的听证会迫在眉睫。 加州上诉法院 第一上诉区 将于2月XNUMX日对Johnson v Monsanto案进行交叉上诉的口头辩论。

该案使加利福尼亚州的场地管理员Dewayne“ Lee” Johnson与孟山都陷入了困境, 导致289亿美元的损害赔偿 陪审团于2018年XNUMX月为约翰逊辩护。陪审团不仅发现孟山都的Roundup及其相关草甘膦品牌对使用它们的人们构成了重大危险,而且有“明确且令人信服的证据”表明孟山都的官员在行动中“恶意或压迫”。未能充分警告风险。

约翰逊案的初审法官 后来降低了赔偿 至78.5万美元。 孟山都甚至对减少的裁决提出了上诉,而约翰逊则提出上诉,要求恢复整个陪审团的裁决。

In 上诉判决, 孟山都(Monsanto)要求法院撤销原判并为孟山都(Monsanto)作出判决,或撤销原判并重新审理该案以进行新的审判。 孟山都至少要求上诉法院将陪审团裁决中“未来非经济损失”的部分从33万美元减少到1.5万美元,并彻底消除惩罚性赔偿。

上诉法院法官 提早暗示 关于他们如何看待该案的信息,并通知双方律师,他们应该准备在2月XNUMX日的听证会上讨论损害赔偿问题。 原告的律师认为这是令人鼓舞的迹象,表明法官可能不打算下令进行新的审判。

根据最近几个月讨论的和解条款,拜耳将支付总计10亿美元,以结案由几家大公司持有的案件,但不会同意在其基于草甘膦的杂草上贴上警告标签一些原告律师的要求是杀手。

和解不涵盖所有未决索赔的原告。 它也不会涵盖约翰逊或已经在审判中胜诉的其他三名原告。 孟山都公司和拜耳公司对所有审判损失提出上诉。

参与诉讼的主要律师事务所的律师拒绝讨论当前情况。

拜耳公司官员否认有任何科学证据将草甘膦除草剂与癌症联系起来,但投资者一直在推动达成和解以解决诉讼。 在上诉法院作出任何不利裁决之前,对拜耳解决案件将是有益的,这可能会进一步困扰公司的股东。 拜耳于2018年2018月收购了孟山都(Monsanto)。继约翰逊(Johnson)在XNUMX年XNUMX月遭受审判损失之后,该公司股价暴跌,并一直承受压力。

沮丧的原告

Roundup癌症诉讼中的第一起诉讼于2015年底提起,这意味着许多原告已经等待了多年的解决。 一些原告在等待期间已经死亡,现在由于家人结案的进展缓慢,他们的案件由家庭成员结转。

一些原告一直在向拜耳高管发出视频消息,呼吁他们同意和解协议,并做出修改,以警告消费者有关草甘膦类除草剂(如农达)的潜在癌症风险。

68岁的Vincent Tricomi就是这样的原告。 在他与美国知情权分享的视频中,他说他已经接受了12轮化学疗法和XNUMX次住院治疗以对抗癌症。 他说,在获得暂时缓解后,癌症于今年早些时候复发。

特里科米说:“像我这样的许多人正遭受苦难,需要救济。” 在下面观看他的视频消息:

Fresh talk of a settlement between Bayer and Roundup cancer patients

Print Email Share Tweet

There was renewed talk of a potential settlement this week between Bayer AG and tens of thousands of cancer patients as a key court hearing looms next week.

According to a report in Bloomberg, lawyers for Bayer have reached verbal agreements with U.S. lawyers representing at least 50,000 plaintiffs who are suing Monsanto over claims that Roundup and other Monsanto herbicides caused the plaintiffs to develop non-Hodgkin lymphoma.

The details as reported by Bloomberg appear to be mostly unchanged from prior verbal agreements between Bayer and plaintiffs’ attorneys that fell apart during the Coronavirus-related courthouse closings. With the courthouses still closed, trial dates have been postponed, taking the pressure off Bayer.

But a new pressure point looms with next week’s hearing in the appeal of the first Roundup cancer trial. The California Court of Appeal First Appellate District is set to hear oral arguments on cross-appeals in the case of Johnson v Monsanto  on June 2.

That case, which pitted California groundskeeper Dewayne “Lee” Johnson against Monsanto, resulted in a $289 million damage award for Johnson in August 2018. The jury found not only that Monsanto’s Roundup and related glyphosate-based brands presented a substantial danger to people using them, but that there was “clear and convincing evidence” that Monsanto’s officials acted with “malice or oppression” in failing to adequately warn of the risks.

The trial judge in the Johnson case later lowered the damages to $78.5 million. Monsanto appealed even the reduced award, and Johnson cross-appealed seeking reinstatement of the full jury award.

In appealing the verdict, Monsanto asked the court to either reverse the trial decision and enter a judgment for Monsanto or reverse and remand the case for a new trial. At the very least, Monsanto asked the appeals court to reduce the portion of the jury award for “future noneconomic damages” from $33 million to $1.5 million and to wipe out the punitive damages altogether.

The appeals court judges gave an early hint about how they were leaning on the case, notifying lawyers for the two sides that they should be prepared to discuss the question of damages in the June 2 hearing. Plaintiffs’ attorneys have taken that as an encouraging sign that the judges may not be planning to order a new trial.

Under the terms of the settlement that has been discussed for the last several months, Bayer would pay out a total of $10 billion to bring closure to cases held by several large firms, but would not agree to put warning labels on its glyphosate-based weed killers, as had been demanded by some of the plaintiffs’ attorneys.

The settlement would not cover all of the plaintiffs with pending claims. Nor would it cover Johnson or the other three plaintiffs who already won their claims at trial. Monsanto and Bayer have appealed all the trial losses.

Lawyers at the major firms involved in the litigation declined to discuss the current situation.

Bayer officials have denied there is any scientific evidence linking glyphosate herbicides to cancer, but investors have been pushing for a settlement to resolve the litigation. It would be beneficial to Bayer to settle the cases before any adverse ruling by the appellate court, which could further rattle the company’s shareholders. Bayer bought Monsanto in June of 2018. Following the Johnson trial loss in August 2018, the company’s share price plummeted and has remained under pressure.

Frustrated Plaintiffs

The first lawsuits in the Roundup cancer litigation were filed in late 2015, meaning many plaintiffs have been waiting years for resolution. Some plaintiffs have died while they waited, with their cases now being carried forward by family members frustrated at the lack of progress in bringing cases to a close.

Some plaintiffs have been making video messages directed at Bayer executives, calling for them to agree to settlements and to make changes to warn consumers about potential cancer risks of glyphosate-based herbicides such as Roundup.

Vincent Tricomi, 68, is one such plaintiff. In the video he made, which he shared with US Right to Know, he said he has undergone 12 rounds of chemotherapy and five hospital stays fighting his cancer. After achieving a temporary remission, the cancer recurred earlier this year, he said.

“There are so many like me who are suffering and need relief,” said Tricomi.  Watch his video message below: